Eight Branches of Ayurveda.

/ Eight Branches of Ayurveda

Classically, Ayurvedic Medicine was conceptualized and practiced as eight major clinical subspecialties of medicine in addition to numerous adjunctive specialties. These eight major subspecialties continue to be taught today and they include:

  1. Internal medicine (Kaya chikitsa)
  2. Treatment of head & neck diseases (shalakya tantra)
  3. Surgery (shalya)
  4. Toxicology (agadantantra)
  5. Paediatrics (kaumara)
  6. The Science of Rejuvenation (resayana)
  7. The Science of Aphrodisiacs (vajikarana)
  8. Psychology and Psychiatry (bhutavidaya)

Book an Ayurvedic Lifestyle Consultation with Neerja

Back to Top